This is a list of countries open to South Africans

Where can South African travel to?

This is a list of countries open to South Africans – some require vaccines and others just PCR testing whilst others require quarantine on arrival. This list is updated on a weekly basis, for up to date information please visit our Travel News Hub or visit our Sherpa Travel Map or get in touch with your dedicated Travel Manager.

Open for VACCINATED South Africans with some restrictions (please check Travel Hub) Open for South Africans with testing restrictions (please check Travel Hub)
Abu Dhabi Albania
Andorra Algeria
Angola Armenia
Antigua and Barbuda Aruba
Argentina (1 Nov) Bahamas
Austria -(entry within 270 days of last vaccine) Belize
Bangladesh Benin
Barbados Botswana
Belarus Brazil
Belgium Burkina Faso
Bermuda Burundi
Bolivia Cape Verde
Bosnia & Hersegovinia Colombia
British Virgin Islands Comoros
Canada Congo, Rep of
Central African Republic Costa Rica
Chad Cote d'Ivoire
Chile Curacau
Croatia - (entry within 210 days of last vaccine) Dominican Republic
Cuba DRC
Czech Republic (Digital Vaccine Cards  certain countries Only) Dubai
Dominica Ecuador
Egypt El Salvador
Equatorial Guinea Eswatini
Eritrea Ethiopia
Estonia Gabon
Finland Gambia, The
France Germany
French Guyana Ghana
French Polynesia Guinea
Georgia Guinea-Bassau
Gibraltar Haiti
Grenada India (15 Nov)
Guadalope Jamaica
Guatamala Jersey
Guyana Jordan
Honduras Kenya
Hungary (Digital Vaccine Cards  certain countries Only) Kosovo
Iceland Kyrgyzstan
Ireland - (No Quarantine UPDATE) Lebanon
Latvia Lesotho
Liberia Malawi
Liechtenstein Maldives
Lithuania Mali
Malta (Approved Vaccine Cards Only) Mexico
Martinique Mozambique
Mauritania Namibia
Mauritius Nicaraguay
Mayotte Panama
Moldova Paraguay
Monaco Rwanda
Montenegro Saint Lucia
Morocco San Marino
Nepal Sao Tome and Principe
Netherlands Senegal
Niger Seychelles
North Macedonia Sierra Leone
Norway (Digital Vaccine Cards  certain countries Only) Sudan
Oman Tajikistan
Palau Tanzania
Qatar Uganda
Reunion Ukraine
Romania  Uzbekistan
Russia Venezuela
Saudi Arabia Zimbabwe
Sri Lanka  
St Vincent and Grenadines  
Thailand (Phuket and Samui Sandbox Model)  
Trinidad & Tobago  
Turks and Caicos Islands  
United Kingdom   
On our watchlist for opening  
Italy - no tourism, business visa's can be applied for  
Portugal - open to EXISTING visa holders who are fully vaccinated                    HOWEVER FOR ESSENTIAL TRAVEL ONLY  
USA (November)  
Greece - open to EXISTING visa holders visa holders  
Malaysia (Lankawi)  
Indonesia (Bali)   
Australia (Open from 1 November for immediate Family members)  
New Zealand   
Airlines Flying
INTERNATIONAL Carriers Flying ex RSA - Please check what entry restrictions apply for South African travellers  DOMESTIC
Air France Airlink
Air Mauritius BA Comair
Air Seychelles  Cemair
British Airways  FlySafair
Delta Airlines Kulula
Egypt Air  SAA
Ethiopian Airlines   
Kenya Airways   
KLM Royal Dutch Airlines   
Qatar Airways  
Singapore Airlines   
Swiss International Airlines  
Taag Angola Airlines   
Turkish Airlines  
Uganda Airlines   
United Airlines  
Virgin Atlantic   
Not Flying to RSA currently
Airline Resume Flying
Air Peace  01-Oct-21*
Alitalia Ceased Operation
Asky Until Further Notice (Potentially Dec 2020)
Austrian Airlines Until Further Notice
BA Comair/kulula  01-Sept-21*
Delta 01-Aug-21
Emirates 07/08/2021*
Italia Tansporto Aereo (ITA) Waiting on confirmation if RSA will open
Latam Until Further Notice
Lift  01/08/2021*
Qantas Late Dec 21*
  ** Dates Subject to Change ***