Travel Ban: Australia closes borders

Travel Update: Coronavirus Banner

Australia closes borders to foreign nationals - effective 20 March 2020

Australia has taken the decision to close their borders to all foreign travellers as of  21:00pm AEDT on 20 March 2020 (13:00pm RSA time). The travel ban comes into effect for non-citizens and non-residents. 

Australians will still be able to return from overseas but they will be required to self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival in Australia.  


New Zealand closes borders to foreign nationals – effective midnight 19 March 2020

New Zealand had already announced plans to close its borders to foreign nationals from midnight tonight.


Mauritius closes its borders to all foreign nationals effective 19 March 2020

Mauritius will be closing its borders to all foreign nationals, including South Africans, effective 19 March 2020. The airport will be closed to incoming flights as of 10:00am on 19 March 2020. The Prime Minister of Mauritius confirmed on Wednesday 18 March 2020 that three people have tested positive for COVID-19. All passengers, including transits, will not be permitted to enter the country for a period of 14 days.